Gears

TTL off camera shoe cord extended

I’ve been suffering short TTL shoe cord for some time. It says to be extendable to three meters. But as it goes toward one meter, the tension builds up high. There is one time it pulls down the light stand.

It is time to get it extended! The idea came from the web that uses a CAT-5 cable to extend TTL shoe cord. I was to do it the simple way – cut the cord in half; punch one end into the modular jack and the other end into the plug.

But only until I cut the cord in half did I find out that I was wrong. The wires inside the cord are soft and they can not be punched into either the jack or the plug. So I have to do it the old fashion – weld the CAT-5 cable into the shoe and the jack onto the cord. I could have used full length of the cord, but … …

Here’s the shoe with CAT-5 cable.

After welding the jack, I filled it with epoxy so as to provide a shield against short circuit, as well as a re-enforcement to the soft wires at the opening end of the cord.

Here’s the finished TTL shoe cord, extendable by plugging in CAT-5 cable at desired length.

The rain just stopped, so I took them down for a few shots.

Leave a comment